Friday, March 15, 2024

Blog Tour: The Bordeaux Book Club by Gillian Harvey

Have you ever tried to start a book club? It can be a bit difficult, especially if you are trying to bring together a group of strangers. In the latest book by Gillian Harvey we meet Grace, Leah, Monica, George and Alfie who are all British expats who have been living in France for varying lengths of time.

Grace decides that she wants to start a book club for English speakers who live in and near Bordeaux. She already knows that her friend Leah will be a member, but she doesn't know how much more interest she will get. She is therefore really pleased to learn that there are several other interested parties, but you never really know if everyone will click, and if they will come back after the first meeting!

Leah and her family moved to the area three years previously with the idea that they would be able to be self sufficient. They have planted the veggies, bought the chickens, but really, it hasn't turned out to be that easy. They have plenty of eggs, although it is a bit of a risk to go in and get them because at least one of the chooks doesn't like Leah but there are only so many egg dishes you can have. Leah's teenage daughter has turned into a moody teenager and her husband is behaving very strangely. It all just feels a bit too hard

Monica is a young mum who lives in a gorgeous apartment in Central Bordeaux. Her husband is away for weeks at a time and she is struggling with caring for herself and a young baby.

George is a tradie who has been living in France for a year working on a renovation, and Alfie moved to France years before with his mother.

Grace is the organiser, the person who volunteers for all sorts of activities, who ensures the food is organised and that everyone has what they need. Whilst she is always happy to be available to listen to everyone else, in a way that can come across as a bit intrusive, she isn't really that open to others. I feel like I have known a Grace in a previous book club, so I was interested to see how the new friendships influenced her behaviour. 

One of the things that I find interesting with book club related books is that the book club choices are always very earnest, lots of classics. and not the kind of book that the reader is reading! It's something that I have noted in previous book club books too.  The classics that they read in the book did prompt some interesting conversations at least.

I've read the last four books by Gillian Harvey, and I can assure you right now, I will read the next four too! One of things that I like about her books is that whilst they are all set in France, the situations are all a bit different and so it doesn't feel like you are reading the same book over and over!

Also, how gorgeous is this cover??

I am sharing this with the Bookish Books Reading Challenge and the New Release Challenge.

Check out other stops on the blog tour to hear other's thoughts on this good read!!

Thanks to the publisher, Rachel's Random Resources and Netgalley for the review copy

Rating 4/5






About the book

The Bordeaux Book Club

Love books? The Bordeaux Book Club is seeking new members!

When Leah and her husband moved to France, it was with the dream of becoming self-sufficient. But in truth, it’s not the ‘good life’ she’d imagined, as three hours of digging barely yields a single straggly carrot. Worse, her teenage daughter is acting up, and her husband seems to find every strange excuse under the hot French sun to disappear.

So when her friend entreats her to join the new bookclub she’s forming, Leah decides it’s something she will do for herself. The chance to make new friends, to drink a few glasses of wine, and to escape into stories that take her miles away from the life she’d thought would be her own happy-ever-after.

But the book club is a strange group of misfits. There’s prickly Grace, who lives alone and seems to know everybody and like no-one. Buttoned-up Monica, who says her husband is away and appears to be parenting her baby all alone. Handsome builder George, who has barely read a book before. And Alfie – who is a full two decades younger than everyone else, and is hiding a devastating secret…

As the stories they read begin to bring the new friends closer together, Leah is about to discover that happy-ever-afters don’t always look how you expect them to…

A gorgeously escapist read from the bestselling author of A Year at the French Farmhouse, perfect for fans of Veronica Henry, Jo Thomas and Fiona Valpy.


Purchase Link - https://mybook.to/bookclubsocial


About the author


Internationally best-selling author of contemporary, emotionally compelling and humorous commercial fiction.

Social Media Links –

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/gharveyauthor

Twitter: https://twitter.com/GillPlusFive

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/gillplusfive/

TikTok: https://www.tiktok.com/@gillianharveyauthor?lang=en

Newsletter Sign Up: https://bit.ly/GillianHarveyNews

Bookbub profile: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/gillian-harvey


1 comment:

  1. I guess you're right about novels with book clubs mostly choosing classics and such. They need to lighten up!

    ReplyDelete

LinkWithin

Related Posts with Thumbnails

  © Blogger template Simple n' Sweet by Ourblogtemplates.com 2009

Back to TOP